Search This Website

Saturday, 13 August 2022

Har Ghar Tiranga: National flag changed six times in 116 years, know the story of five Indian flags before independence

 Har Ghar Tiranga: National flag changed six times in 116 years, know the story of five Indian flags before independence

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav Har Ghar Tiranga: This year the country is completing 75 years of independence. On this occasion Amrit Mahotsav of Independence is being celebrated all over India. Under the appeal of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the tricolor campaign is being run at every house. People are being appealed to hoist the tricolor. But the story behind this tricolor is very long. The flag has been changed six times in the country in the last 116 years. On the anniversary of independence, it is very important for us to know what were the important milestones in this journey of our national flag and when and what changes took place. The last change happened in 1947. Let's know the journey from Union Jack to Tricolor ...

The first national flag was found in 1906

As the freedom struggle of India was getting intensified, the revolutionary parties at their own level were proposing their own flag for the separate identity of the independent nation. The first flag in the country appeared in 1906. It was hoisted on August 7, 1906 at Parsi Bagan Chowk, Calcutta (now Green Park, Kolkata). This flag had three colored stripes. These had green stripes at the top, yellow in the middle and red at the bottom. It had eight lotus flowers in the upper band, which were white in colour. Vande Mataram was written in blue in the yellow stripe in the middle. Apart from this, the moon and sun were also made of white color in the red color strip at the bottom.

The flag was changed the very next year

It must have been only a year after the first flag was received that the country got the second flag. At first, Madam Bhikajikama and some of her revolutionary companions who had been exiled together raised the new flag of India in Paris by making some changes to the first flag. This flag was also very similar in appearance to the first. It had stripes of saffron, yellow and green. Vande Mataram was written in the middle. At the same time, seven eight stars of the moon and the sun were made in it.

Annie Besant and Tilak hoisted the new flag in 1917

After this another new flag appeared in 1917. Dr. Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak unfurled a new flag. This new flag had five red and four green stripes. Towards the end of the flag, there was a triangular shape in black color. There was also a Union Jack in the left corner. Whereas along with a moon star, it also had seven stars depicting the Saptarishi.

The flag of the country changed for the fourth time in 1921.

A decade later, in 1921, India also got its fourth flag. During the session of the All India Congress Committee, a man from Andhra Pradesh in Bezwada (Vijayawada) presented a flag to Mahatma Gandhi, made of two colors green and red. Gandhiji made some changes in it. He had put three strips of white, green and red in it. At the same time, a large moving spinning wheel was also made in the middle to show the development of the country.

A decade later, in 1931, the national flag was changed again.

The flag of India was changed once again in 1931. This flag was officially adopted by the Indian National Congress. In this flag, saffron color was made at the top, white color in the middle and green color in the last. In this, a white stripe in the middle of the small size complete spinning wheel was kept. The spinning wheel in the white band is a symbol of the progress of the nation.

The country finally got the tricolor in 1947

After all the efforts, when the country finally became independent in 1947, the country got the tricolor flag. The flag made in 1931 was accepted as the national flag of India in the meeting of the Constituent Assembly on July 22, 1947, with one change. In this flag, instead of the spinning wheel, the Dharma Chakra of Emperor Ashoka is shown in dark blue color. The wheel of 24 spokes is also called the wheel of the method. It was prepared by Pingali Venkaiah. It has a saffron stripe on top, white in the middle and a green stripe at the bottom. All three are in proportion. Its length - width is two by three.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.